

Board of Trustees MINUTES – Special Session Meeting

Date: May 11, 2022 @ 3:30 PM

Location: Virtual Meeting, NPS Campus

6 7

Board Members Present: Matthew Tso, Anderson Yazzie, Jr., Charley Long, Sr., Sherrick Roanhorse

8 9

10

11

12

I-III. Call to Order, Roll Call, and Invocation

The meeting was called to order at 3:39 PM by the Board President, Matthew Tso. All four elected board members were present for a quorum and Recording Secretary, Yvette Escojeda announced the roll call.

The invocation was provided by the board member Charley Long, Sr.

13 14 15

IV. **Approval of Agenda**

The proposed agenda for Wednesday, May 11, with no changes.

NPS Motion/Second: Anderson Yazzie, Jr./Charley Long, Sr.

Introduction of Guests, Public Comments & Announcements

Motion carried 4-0-0

17 18 19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26

27

28

29

VI.

16

V. Approval of Minutes – N/A

Head of School, Shawna A. Becenti updated attendees on the upcoming events, on May 11th there will be an Alumni event at the Rambler from 5:30 PM – 8:00 PM. Tomorrow on May 12th the 30Th Anniversary will be held on campus starting at 10:00 AM, numerous local, state, and Navajo nation representatives have confirmed their attendance. Mrs. Bettty Ojaye, Sante Lewis, and the Navajo Nation President Jonathan Nez will speak during the event.

Board President, Matthew Tso announced that Navajo Preparatory's Reauthorization is scheduled for May 25, 2022.

Board Member, Sherrick Roanhorse congratulated our student ad hoc board member for being names as on one of Unity's 25 Under 25 Leadership Award recipients.

30 31 32

VII. Reports- N/A

33 34

VIII. **Unfinished Business – N/A**

36 37 IX.

35

New Business

38 39

40

41

42

43

Resolution Approval: Honor Graduate Calculation

Dean of Instruction, Mr. Keith Neil read the memo requesting a change to our NPS community handbook policy to apply only to SY 2021/2022 which will remove the "ACT and/or SAT Scores" percentage calculation this year in determining Honor Graduates, Salutatorian and Valedictorian. Instead, the Graduation Honors will be determined by Cumulative GPA, IB Diploma Candidate or Dual Credit Student, and Attendance at Navajo Prep for four years. This change will support our students and adapt our policies to the realities of the COVID-19

44 pandemic. NPS Motion by Charley Long, Sr./Anderson Yazzie, Jr.

Motion Carried 4-0-0

49 50

1	VI.	vi. Personnei		
2		A. Approval: New Hires		
3		Head of School read the Personnel Recommendation from the Director of Human Resources to		
4		fill the position of a Senior Accountant, Navajo Language Teacher, and an English Teacher.		
5				
6		B. Approval: Summer School Stipends		
7		Head of School read the memo requesting Summer School Stipends for four teachers, one lead		
8		teacher, one administrator, and the school nurse for summer school. The funding for the		
9		positions will come from the ACE grant and the JOM program.		
10		The Board of Trustees agreed to combine items A and B together for voting purposes.		
11		NPS Motion by Anderson Yazzie, Jr./Sherrick Roanhorse Motion Ca	arried 4-0-0	
12				
13		C. Approval: 401k Provider Recommendation SY 22/23		
14		A presentation was given by the awarded vendor who will provide 401K services for SY 22/23.		
15		After the presentation there was discussion to table this item for the next regular board meeting		
16		when the Director Human Resources can be available for responses.		
17		NPS Motion by Charley Long, Sr./Sherrick Roanhorse		
18				
19	VII.	Travel		
20		B. Approval: National Legislative Collaboration, June 13-17, 2022, Washington, DO	2	
21		C. Approval: IB Professional Development, June 17-21, 22, St. Pete's Beach, FL.		
22		D. Approval: WIPCE Presentation, September 23-October 2, 2022, Adelaide, Australia		
23		The board of trustees agreed to combine items A-D for voting purposes.		
24		-	rried 4-0-0	
25	XII.	I. Future Business, Next Meeting Date & Adjournment The next Regular board meeting for the Board will be held virtually on May 17th at 5:30 PM.		
26				
27		The meeting adjourned at 5:30 P.M. Motion Car	ried 4-0-0	
28				
29				
30	Minu	tes approved on May 17, 2022		
31		Matthew Tso, I	 President	
32	M/S:	Sherrick Roanhorse/Anderson Yazzie, Jr.	Testactic	